CSK register a clinical 27-run win against KKR to lift their fourth IPL title –

Chennai Super Kings add fourth IPL to their trophy cabinet after beating Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the final at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday. The Yellow Army exhibited yet another clinical performance in an IPL final.

They have been in this situation number of times. They know how to perform in such situations and, once again, they have shown why they are one of the best teams in the Indian Premier League.

MS Dhoni didn’t win the toss and was asked to bat first. Despite that Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis gave the side a brilliant start. They played cautiously for a few overs before Ruturaj Gaikwad got going once the spinners got into the attack. The duo added 50 runs without losing a wicket in the powerplay.

Sunil Narine broke the partnership in the ninth over, sending Gaikwad back to the hut to help KKR get back into the game but CSK was in no mood to slow down. Faf du Plessis then joined hands with Robin Uthappa to take the innings forward. The duo upped the ante after the halfway mark as boundaries came more frequently.

Coming in at number three once again, Robin Uthappa played a stellar 15-ball 31 run-cameo, including three sixes. His knock gave CSK the much-needed impetus needed in the middle overs. Faf du Plessis anchored the innings and ensured that he stays till the very last ball of the innings. Du Plessis started his innings cautiously before taking the bowlers to the cleaners in the latter half of the innings.

He scored 86 runs off just 59 balls, a knock which was laced with 7 fours and 3 sixes. Another significant 20-ball 37-run contribution from Moeen Ali meant Chennai Super Kings finished their innings at a mammoth 192-run total in the first innings.

Kolkata Knight Riders needed a good start with the bat to fancy their chances of a win. In-form opening pair of Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill gave the team just that. Iyer got a couple of reprieves from MS Dhoni early in the innings and the southpaw cashed on it as well. He scored his fourth-half century in IPL 2020, helping KKR amass 90 runs in the first ten overs without losing a wicket. KKR at that stage had the upper hand in the game.

However, the arrival of the man with the golden arm, Shardul Thakur in the 11th over turned things around in the single over. The CSK all-rounder sent back both Iyer (51 off 43) and Nitish Rana (0 off 1) in a single over to bring his team back into the contest. Sunil Narine was sent up the order in a bid to reduce the required run rate, however, he too departed after scoring only 2 runs.

Deepak Chahar was brought into the attack in the 14th over and he sent back the set batsman Shubman Gill (51 off 43) to leave KKR in all sorts of trouble. KKR, at that stage, needed 84 runs in just 40 balls.

The likes of Eoin Morgan (4 off 8), and Dinesh (9 off 7) and Shakib Al Hasan (0 off 1) found all at sea as KKR was all but of the game in a matter of a couple of overs. All they managed was 165 runs in the second innings. Chennai Super Kings won the game by 27 runs to win their fourth IPL title.

Author: Martha Chavez